Los Angeles Almanac Logo
Home | All Almanac Topics | Government | County & Municipal

Mayors & City Councils
Cities of Los Angeles County

Photo courtesy of KevinCNorris & Pixabay.com.

Los Angeles County has 88 municipalities within its boundaries, each governed by a city council and, in some, a mayor with executive powers (a "strong mayor"). Most of these city councils appoint a professional city manager to serve as the city's chief executive and supervise day-to-day municipal operations. Voters in 23 cities directly elect their mayor (in Avalon, Azusa, Baldwin Park, Carson, Compton, El Monte, Gardena, Hawthorne, Inglewood, La Verne, Lancaster, Lawndale, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Monrovia, Palmdale, Pasadena, Pomona, Redondo Beach, San Dimas, South El Monte, Torrance, and Whittier). Mayors of all other cities are actually members of city councils who, on an annual or otherwise periodic basis, rotate the role of mayor and vice mayor (or mayor pro tempore) among themselves. The powers of these rotational mayors are typically limited to chairing council meetings, signing official documents, and performing ceremonial functions. Executive management of the city is left to city managers hired by the councils.

Most city councils in Los Angeles County seat five council members, with the exception of the cities of Los Angeles with 15 members, Long Beach with 9 members, Pasadena and Santa Monica each with 7 members, Pomona and Torrance each with 6 members, and Carson, Compton, Gardena, Inglewood, Lancaster, Palmdale, and Whittier each with 4 members. All these, except Santa Monica, have mayors who are elected-at-large.

Most city councils in Los Angeles County also represent their city's constituents at-large, although some councils divide seats among designated districts (Alhambra, Arcadia, Bradbury, Compton, Downey, Glendora, Inglewood, La Mirada, Lakewood, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Montebello, Monterey Park, Palmdale, Pasadena, Pomona, and Redondo Beach, West Covina, and Whittier). Voters in these cities select their city council representative from within the district in which they reside.

Almost all city governments in Los Angeles County also seat a City Clerk and City Treasurer, elected by each city's voters at-large. Voters in the cities of Los Angeles, Long Beach, and Redondo Beach also elect a City Attorney. Los Angeles voters also elect a City Controller.

The roster of the more than 450 city council members and mayors in Los Angeles County is constantly changing, making it a challenge for the Almanac to maintain a current countywide list. For current elected officials for each of county's cities, we refer you to each city's website for current information. You can find links to city websites in each of our city pages listed below.

Also find listings of elected California municipal officials in the California Roster.