Los Angeles Almanac Logo
Home | All Almanac Topics | Government | Federal

U.S. Congressional Representatives
Los Angeles County

Seal, U.S. House of Representatives, congress

With the 116th Congress, seated on January 3, 2019, Republican Kevin McCarthy, representing California's 23rd District, a portion of which is in Los Angeles County, was selected by House members of his party to be Minority Leader (leader of the minority party) in the House of Representatives.

With the 116th Congress seated on January 3, 2019, 10 of the 18 representatives covering Los Angeles County were women. First-time Congresswoman Katie Hill (D), age 31, was the youngest representative from Los Angeles County and the only one under age 40. Veteran Congresswomen Maxine Waters (D), age 80, and Grace Napolitano (D), age 82, were the oldest representatives from Los Angeles County.

Despite the infamously historic and violent insurrection at the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021, instigated by unfounded allegations of significant voter fraud in the 2020 general election, U.S. Representatives Kevin McCarthy (23rd District) and Mike Garcia (25th District), both joined other Republican congressional representatives in challenging the certification of the election. The challenge was rejected by the House of Representatives. Both congressmen represent at least a portion of Los Angeles County. One month earlier, McCarthy, who also served as the Republican Minority House Leader, had added his name in support of a failed attempt by the Texas Attorney General to challenge the votes of four other states before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Find who represents you in Congress.

Map of Los Angeles County Congressional Districts

Congressional District Representative
23 Kevin McCarthy (R)
25 Mike Garcia (R)
26 Julia Brownley (D)
27 Judy Chu (D)
28 Adam B. Schiff (D)
29 Tony Cardenas (D)
30 Brad Sherman (D)
32 Grace F. Napolitano (D)
33 Ted Lieu (D)
34 Jimmy Gomez (D)
35 Norma Torres (D)
37 Karen R. Bass (D)
38 Linda T. Sanchez (D)
39 Young Kim (R)
40 Lucille Roybal-Allard (D)
43 Maxine Waters (D)
44 Nanette Barragan (D)
47 Alan Lowenthal (D)