Los Angeles Almanac Logo
Home | All Almanac Topics | Awards

Nobel Prize Winners
Los Angeles County

Year Winner Institution Category
1923 Robert A. Millikan Cal Tech Physics
1933 Thomas Hunt Morgan Cal Tech Physiology or Medicine
1936 Carl D. Anderson Cal Tech Physics
1950 Ralph Bunche UCLA* Peace
1951 Edwin Mattison McMillan Cal Tech* Chemistry
1951 Glenn T. Seaborg UCLA* Chemistry
1954 Linus Pauling Cal Tech Chemistry
1956 William Shockley Cal Tech* Physics
1958 George Wells Beadle Cal Tech Physiology or Medicine
1960 Donald A. Glaser Cal Tech* Physics
1960 Willard Libby UCLA Chemistry
1961 Rudolf Mössbauer Cal Tech Physics
1962 Linus Pauling Cal Tech Peace
1964 Charles H. Townes Cal Tech* Physics
1965 Richard P. Feynman Cal Tech Physics
1969 Max Delbrück Cal Tech Physiology or Medicine
1969 Murray Gell-Mann Cal Tech Physics
1975 Leo James Rainwater Cal Tech* Physics
1976 William Lipscomb Cal Tech* Chemistry
1978 Robert Woodrow Wilson Cal Tech* Physics
1981 Roger W. Sperry Cal Tech Physiology or Medicine
1982 Kenneth G. Wilson Cal Tech* Physics
1983 William A. Fowler Cal Tech Physics
1984 Bruce Merrifield UCLA* Chemistry
1987 Donald Cram UCLA Chemistry
1990 William F. Sharpe UCLA* Economics
1992 Rudolph A. Marcus Cal Tech Chemistry
1994 George Andrew Olah USC Chemistry
1995 Edward B. Lewis Cal Tech Physiology or Medicine
1996 Douglas D. Osheroff Cal Tech* Physics
1997 Paul D. Boyer UCLA Chemistry
1997 Robert C. Merton Cal Tech* Economics
1998 Louis Ignarro UCLA Physiology or Medicine
1999 Ahmed Zewail Cal Tech Chemistry
2001 Leland H. Hartwell Cal Tech* Physiology or Medicine
2002 Vernon L. Smith Cal Tech* Economics
2004 H. David Politzer Cal Tech Physics
2005 Robert H. Grubbs Cal Tech Chemistry
2009 Elinor Ostrom UCLA* Economics
2010 Richard Heck UCLA* Chemistry
2012 Lloyd Shapley UCLA Economics
2013 Arieh Warshel USC Chemistry
2013 Martin Karplus Cal Tech* Chemistry
2013 Randy Schekman UCLA* Physiology or Medicine
2014 Eric Betzig Cal Tech* Chemistry
2015 Arthur B. McDonald Cal Tech* Physics
2016 Fraser Stoddart UCLA* Chemistry
2017 Barry C. Barish CalTech Physics
2017 Michael Rosbash CalTech* Physiology or Medicine
2018 Frances Arnold CalTech Chemistry
2020 Charles M. Rice CalTech* Physiology or Medicine
2020 Andrea M. Ghez CalTech*; UCLA Physics
2020 Jennifer Doudna Pomona College* Chemistry
2021 Ardem Patapoutian UCLA*, CalTech* Physiology or Medicine

* Winner had been a student/graduate/professor of this institution, but was not awarded the prize while there.
† Co-winner of the prize

Source: Nobel Prizes