Los Angeles Almanac Logo
Home | All Almanac Topics | Sports

Los Angeles Professional Women's Soccer

Angel City Football Club

Angel City Football Club was first announced in July 2020 as an expansion team in the National Women's Soccer League and played their first season in 2022.

Office: 11693 San Vicente Blvd, #201, Los Angeles 90049
Web site: angelcity.com
Home: BMO Stadium (Capacity: 22,000)
Affiliation: National Women's Soccer League
Owners: 44 named owners of the club, the majority being female. The ownership roster is led by actress Natalie Portman, venture capitalist Kara Nortman, entrepreneur Julie Uhrman, and venture capitalist Alexis Ohanian, followed by a number of other high profile athletes and actors.

Final Standing by Season

Year League Regular Season Rank Wins-Draws-Losses
2023 5 8-7-7
2022 8 8-5-9

Also see: Los Angeles Professional Men's Soccer

Los Angeles Sol (Disbanded)

Los Angeles Sol was established in 2007 and became one of seven founding teams for the Women's Professional Soccer league. The team only played in the league's inaugural season of 2009. It disbanding the following year. Despite the team's stellar performance and its fielding of Brazilian forward Marta, considered the world's best woman soccer player at the time, it was reported by the Los Angeles Times that this did not translate to sufficient team funding and sufficient game attendence. AEG, owner of the Los Angeles Lakers basketball team, was one of the team's co-owners.

Home: Home Depot Stadium, Carson (renamed StubHub Center in 2013)
Affiliation: Women's Professional Soccer
Owners: Co-owned by Blue Star, LLC and AEG, a subsidiary of the Anschutz Entertainment Group

Final Standing by Season

Year League Regular Season Rank Wins-Losses-Ties
2009 1 12-3-5

The inaugural game for the Women's Professional Soccer league was played on Mar. 29, 2009, at Home Depot Center in Carson, between host Los Angeles Sol and Washington Freedom. Sol won the game, 2–0. More than 14,000 spectators attended the match.

The Los Angeles Sol were the regular season champions of Women's Professional Soccer's inaugural 2009 season, having inflicted at least one defeat on each of the league's other six teams. For this, they earned a berth in the 2009 Women's Professional Soccer Playoffs, only to be defeated by the New Jersey Sky Blue in the finals, 1-0.