Los Angeles Almanac Logo
Home | All Almanac Topics | Sports

Los Angeles Men's Professional Basketball

Team Association & Conference Franchise History League Titles
Clippers NBA, Western Buffalo (1970-1978)
San Diego (1978-1984)
Los Angeles (1984-present)
Lakers NBA, Western Minneapolis (1947-1960)
Los Angeles (1960-present
National Basketball League (1947)
Basketball Association of America (1949)
NBA (1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, 2020)

On December 26, 2000, the new Los Angeles Stars played their debut game at the Forum. They beat the San Diego Wildfire 126-122 before a crowd of 5,347. The team was one of eight teams of the newly resurrected American Basketball Association. The new Stars, however, only played the 2000-2001 season. The rest of the new league completely folded after the 2002 season. The original ABA Los Angeles Stars played from 1968 to 1970. In 1968, businessman Jim Kirst purchased the struggling Anaheim Amigos and moved them to Los Angeles with the new name Stars. The Stars were coached by Bill Sharman who later coached the Lakers. The Stars played in one ABA final in 1970 against the Indiana Pacers. They were defeated in a 4-2 game series. The team was moved to Utah in 1970 and remained active there until 1975. The original ABA league folded in 1976.